Navigate Up
Sign In

Places of Interest

Gordan Lighthouse
Construction works on Gordan Lighthouse started in June 1852. It was built to a height of about 21 metres. On 15th March 1853, Sir William Reid, Governor of Malta inaugurated the lantern which worked with oil. Its beam flashed at a few seconds interval by means of a rotating reflector.Later on a residential quarter for the watchmen was added and the system of lighting changed. The whole project was officially inaugurated by Sir William Reid on 11th October 1857. Gordan lighthouse was then operated by means of 21 fixed kerosene lamps which threw their light on a rotating reflector.
Gordan Lighthouse was instrumental for the defence of the Maltese Islands especially during World War Two. The radar installed in the lighthouse could anticipate enemy attacks very early thus giving ample time for the air raid sirens to warn the people to take shelter from the forthcoming assault.
The lighting system was changed again in 1962, when electrical equipment was installed. It had the power of 895000 candles. The height of the beam was about 180.5 metres and stretched out for about 54 kilometres. It flashed every 7 ½ seconds. This system was officially inaugurated by the Rt Hon Dr Giovanni Felice, Minister for Industrial Development and Tourism on 7th March 1963.
Towards the end of June 1994, another system was installed. This system which is still in operation at present, works automatically and needs less maintenance and surveillance. The Maritime Authority is in charge of Gordan Lighthouse. However The Armed Forces of Malta and the Public Broadcasting Services also make use of the building which houses their essential equipment.
On 7th December 1996, Gordan Lighthouse saw the beginning of a new project which is being run conjointly between the University of Malta and the University of Cologne through an agreement with the Maltese and German Governments. An international study on atmospheric pollution and the effect of carbon monoxide on the ozone layer is in progress. Instruments that measure the amount of carbon monoxide in the atmosphere, have been installed for this purpose.
Wied il-Għasri
 Wied il-Għasri has its source at Dbiegi Hill. It winds its way through L-Għasri between iż-Żebbuħ and Giordan Hill and flows into the sea between very high impressive cliffs. Wied il-L-Għasri is very popular with divers who like to explore the surrounding underwater caves.
The very narrow bay is a haven for those who seek a quiet bathing area. A very interesting spot in this place is a cave close to the shore in which a shaft was hewn up to the top of the steep cliffs. A mill made up of several pails used to be rigged up in order to bring up the sea water to fill the neighbouring saltpans.                
L-Għammar Hill
L-Għammar Hill stands about 188 metres above sea level. Besides its natural beauty, this hill is frequented for the life size marble statues of the Way of the Cross that are found along it. Alfred Camilleri Cauchi, a very well known local artist designed these statues which were then sculpted in Italy. The First Station is at the foot on Ta’ Pinu side. The Way of the Cross comes to its end at the top of the hill. There also lies a chapel dedicated to Our Lady of Ta’ Pinu. Pilgrims and devotees of Our Lady of Ta’ Pinu often go up L-Għammar Hill to pray.

The niche of Our Lady of the Annunciation
This very old niche is situated in the village core, at the foot of Triq Salvu Gambin corner with Triq il-Knisja. The date carved at the back of the stonework, 5th Februaury 1773, indicates that it is about 229 years old.
The carvings and style of the stonework is very typical of most niches around Gozo. The two effiges inside the niche depict the Angel Gabriel announcing the Virgin Mary that she was going to be the Mother of the Son of God.
This niche stands on a balcony which is most interesting and unique. This balcony is supported by three columns. On the left side their is a stairway which leads up to the niche itself. On the feast of Corpus Christae the procession stops in front of this niche. Benediction is given from the balcony top. This religious custom dates back to the 18th century.
In 2002, the Local Council started restoration works on this niche since it was in imminent danger of collapse. The original marble inscription was removed and presently is being kept at the local Parish Church so as to preserve it from further deterioration.
The niche was once again restored in 2018 by the Ghasri Local Council and the Ministry for Gozo.
Il-Maxrabija Windows
On the island of Gozo there are three very unique windows called il-Maxrabija. Two of them are found in L-Għasri. According to the Maltese-English Dictionary written by Profs Joseph Aquilina, the definition of maxrabija is “a kind of window (Arabs’ style) from which one can look and see without being seen.”
These windows which differ in style are made completely from stone. One is situated in L-Għammar Street, close to St Publius Chapel and the other is situated in Lighthouse Street.